Zahoransky AG

A world market leader in brush technology that has remained true to its roots - ties to its homeland and family consciousness - even as it has grown: this is how Zahoransky AG, based in Todtnau in the southern Black Forest, can be described in a nutshell. Founded in 1902, the mechanical engineering company produces injection moulding tools, automation solutions, packaging machines and production lines for toothbrushes and brushes. With the world market leader in the oral care brush industry as its largest corporate customer, every second toothbrush worldwide now comes from a machine developed and manufactured in the Upper Black Forest.
However, Zahoransky can offer the customer not only the machines for brush production, but also blister packaging machines to subsequently package the brushes, as well as injection moulds to produce the brush bodies.
Although Zahoransky's success story to date has been written in the field of brush technology, since 2010 the technology group has been making increasing efforts to bring its strengths to bear in the packaging machines business segment. Here, too, the internationally active full-range supplier scores with its versatile blister machines. The focus here is on packaging for the electrical engineering, tools, cosmetics and hygiene products markets.
Ulrich Zahoransky, who has been managing the third-generation family business since 1988, has not lost sight of the company's core values despite international growth: the high value placed on training is reflected in a trainee ratio of ten percent; a family-like working atmosphere and long periods of service show that Zahoransky's concept of achieving strong employee loyalty through various measures, including flexible working hours, is working.
With a good 900 employees worldwide, 410 of whom work at the headquarters in Todtnau, the Zahoransky Group generated a turnover of 140 million euros last year. The company, which has been globally oriented from the very beginning and already delivered to customers in North and South America as well as Asia before the First World War, now has 10 locations in 6 countries.
These include the Indian subsidiary Zahoransky Moulds & Machines Pvt. Ltd. founded in 2002 and based in Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu) in southern India. With the market entry came successes, but also challenges. In order to be able to meet these in a targeted manner and to be able to shorten the learning curve through a partner with the appropriate India expertise, the machine manufacturer turned to Dr. Wamser + Batra GmbH. Together, they developed step-by-step measures to further increase the performance of the Indian entity by analyzing and optimizing processes in the organization and control, but also in areas such as warehousing and purchasing.

The project started with a seminar by Werner Heesen on "Leadership & Control in India" for all Zahoransky executives in Germany.

This was followed by assignments in the field: through the practical insights he gained directly on site in the Zahoransky Moulds & Machines Pvt. Ltd. Bernd Meissner was able to gain a clear picture of the current processes and identify the areas - particularly in warehousing and purchasing - where there was still room for improvement.

The results of this process analysis also resulted in adjustments to existing job descriptions as well as the need for new hires, so that a new Managing Director for the "Machines" business unit was appointed in the next project phase. A plant manager and a sales manager were also hired, which WB had successfully identified as part of a systematic personnel search.

Dr. Wamser + Batra is a very good partner for Zahoransky Moulds & Machines Pvt. Ltd., Coimbatore, when it comes to recruiting suitable employees, their development towards modern international process thinking with lean structures and processes, as well as efficient internal training with digital support through e-learning. The agile and structured implementation of projects characterizes our good cooperation. We can look back on a great joint development of our long-term cooperation in the location in India. It is always a pleasure to see how we stand out from the rest with good teamwork.

Reinhard Schnurr, executive director

Project Team

Werner Heesen
Negotiations with government and authorities
Assessment
Lobbying
Bernd Meissner
Production
Sourcing
Interim Management

Zahoransky AG

Ein Weltmarktführer in der Bürstentechnologie, der auch im Wachstum seinen Wurzeln – Heimatverbundenheit und Familienbewusstsein – treu geblieben ist: so kann man die in Todtnau im Südschwarzwald ansässige Zahoransky AG in Kurzform beschreiben. Das 1902 gegründete Maschinenbauunternehmen produziert Spritzgießwerkzeuge, Automatisierungslösungen, Verpackungsmaschinen und Produktionsanlagen für Zahnbürsten und Bürsten. Mit dem Weltmarktführer der Oralcare Bürstenindustrie als größten Unternehmenskunden, stammt inzwischen jede zweite Zahnbürste weltweit aus einer Maschine, die im Hochschwarzwald entwickelt und gefertigt wurde.
Dem Kunden kann Zahoransky aber nicht nur die Maschinen zur Bürstenherstellung bieten, sondern auch Blisterverpackungsmaschinen, um die Bürsten anschließend zu verpacken, ebenso wie Spritzgießformen, um die Bürstenkörper herzustellen.
Auch wenn die bisherige Erfolgsgeschichte Zahoranskys im Bereich der Bürstentechnologie geschrieben wurden, bemüht sich der Technologiekonzern seit 2010 vermehrt, seine Stärken im Geschäftsfeld der Verpackungsmaschinen zum Tragen zu bringen. Denn auch hier punktet der international tätige Komplettanbieter mit vielfältig einsetzbaren Blistermaschinen. Dabei liegen die Schwerpunkte auf den Verpackungen für die Märkte Elektrotechnik, Werkzeuge, Kosmetik- und Hygieneprodukte.
Ulrich Zahoransky, der seit 1988 das Familienunternehmen in dritter Generation leitet, hat trotz internationalem Wachstum die zentralen Unternehmenswerte nicht aus dem Blick verloren: der hohe Stellenwert, der der Ausbildung beigemessen wird, spiegelt sich in einer Ausbildungsquote von zehn Prozent; ein familiäres Betriebsklima und lange Betriebszugehörigkeiten zeigen, dass Zahoranskys Konzept, eine starke Mitarbeiterbindung durch verschiedene Massnahmen, u.a. auch flexible Arbeitszeiten, zu erzielen, aufgeht.
Mit den gut 900 Mitarbeitern weltweit, von denen 410 am Stammsitz in Todtnau arbeiten, erwirtschaftete die Zahoransky Group im vergangenen Jahr einen Umsatz von 140 Millionen Euro. Das Unternehmen, das schon von Beginn an global ausgerichtet war und bereits vor dem ersten Weltkrieg an Kunden in Nord- und Südamerika wie auch Asien lieferte, hat mittlerweile 10 Standorte in 6 Ländern.
Zu diesen zählt unter anderem die 2002 gegründete indische Tochtergesellschaft Zahoransky Moulds & Machines Pvt. Ltd., die im südindischen Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu) ansässig ist. Mit dem Markteintritt kamen Erfolge, aber auch Herausforderungen. Um diesen zielgerichtet begegnen zu können und die Lernkurve durch einen Partner mit entsprechender Indienexpertise verkürzen zu können, wandte sich der Maschinenbauer an die Dr. Wamser + Batra GmbH. Gemeinsam erarbeitete man schrittweise Maßnahmen, um die Performance der indischen Entität weiter steigern zu können, indem Prozesse in der Organisation und Steuerung, aber auch in Bereichen wie der Lagerhaltung und dem Einkauf analysiert und optimiert wurden.

Den Projektbeginn bildete ein Seminar von Werner Heesen zum Thema „Führung & Steuerung in Indien“ für alle Führungskräfte Zahoranskys in Deutschland.

Dieses wurden von Einsätzen vor Ort gefolgt: durch die Praxiseinblicke, die er direkt vor Ort in der Zahoransky Moulds & Machines Pvt. Ltd. gewann, war Bernd Meissner in der Lage, ein klares Bild von den laufenden Prozessen zu gewinnen und die Stellen – insbesondere in der Lagerhaltung und dem Einkauf – zu identifizieren, wo noch Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten bestanden.

Aus den Resultaten dieser Prozessanalyse ergaben sich zudem Anpassungen von bestehenden Arbeitsplatzbeschreibungen wie auch die Notwendigkeit von Neueinstellungen, so dass in der nächsten Projektphase ein neuer Managing Director für den Geschäftsbereich „Machines“ eingesetzt wurde. Ebenso wurden ein Werksleiter und ein Sales Manager eingestellt, die WB erfolgreich im Rahmen einer systematischen Personalsuche identifiziert hatte.

Dr. Wamser + Batra ist für Zahoransky Moulds & Machines Pvt. Ltd., Coimbatore ein sehr guter Partner, wenn es um die Gewinnung passender Mitarbeiter, deren Entwicklung hin zu modernem internationalem Prozessdenken mit schlanken Strukturen und Abläufen, als auch effizienter interne Weiterbildung mit digitaler Unterstützung durch E-Learning geht. Die agile und strukturierte Umsetzung von Projekten zeichnet unsere gute Zusammenarbeit aus. Wir können auf eine tolle gemeinsame Entwicklung unseres langjährigen Zusammenarbeit im Standort in Indien zurückblicken. Es macht immer wieder Freude zu sehen, wie wir uns mit guter Teamarbeit von anderen abheben.

Reinhard Schnurr, Executive Director

Projekt-Team

Werner Heesen
Verhandlungen mit Regierung und Behörden
Assessment
Lobbying
Bernd Meissner
Produktion
Sourcing
Interim-Management